LIA Announces 2024 Distinguished Alumnus and Ignite Leadership Award Honorees

Marshall Reginald Thomas Awardee

Lafayette, LA – On Tuesday, February 27, 2024, Leadership Institute of Acadiana announced Marshall
Reggie Thomas as the recipient of the Distinguished Alumnus Leadership Award. This award is
bestowed on Leadership Lafayette alumni whose professional and civic contributions to the community
correlate with the goals, mission, and vision of LIA.

The recipient of the Ignite Leadership Award for 2024 is Fumy Rita, Executive Director of LAGCOE.
Launched in 2020, this award honors a graduate of Leadership Lafayette that is blazing a trail for
others to follow by quickly engaging in community leadership activities and achieving tangible
LIA Executive Director Katrena King expressed, “These leadership awards help us highlight the
impact our program alumni have had on the Lafayette community and beyond. We are pleased to
celebrate Marshall Reggie Thomas and Fumy Rita as examples of what it means to lead and inspire

Distinguished Alumnus Leadership Award Honorees reflect the following criteria: leaders who have
made substantial contributions to the community; innovative, resolute, ambitious, inspirational
leaders; and, those who embody the pillars of servant leadership. Learn more about Thomas here. 

While they may not have been in leadership roles as long as recipients of the Distinguished Alumnus
Leadership Award, Ignite Award recipients have already left a tangible impact on the community.
Learn more about Rita here.

The Leadership Institute of Acadiana (LIA) hosted its 2024 Annual Meeting at the DoubleTree by
Hilton Hotel. With nearly 200 attendees present, the event included highlights of the incoming
Leadership Lafayette Class XXXVII, as well as the election of new board members and officers,
concluding with this special awards ceremony.

Fumy Rita Awardee
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.